Anyone can Write · Tell Your Story · Writing about Writing

Using my Brain Again

Since I have started writing more, I feel like a fire has been lit under me.  The kids have always asked to hear stories about when I was a kid, when I was in high school, when I was in college.  I usually have to dust my brain off to find a story that isn’t totally boring and regular, but lately I haven’t had to do that. I have remembered events that have long been buried. (I probably should have written more down when I was younger.) I think my brain is more active, well, it’s usually active with to do lists and elementary school math and reading, but it’s active in a different way.

My brain has been active in recalling and remembering and writing down things that have happened or feelings that I have felt.  It has been going outside of its usual comfort zone of day to day and has been stretching.  Many nights I have gone to bed thinking of what I want to write about and many days I wake up thinking of what I want to write about.  It’s very empowering and exciting!

Not only have I been writing every day but I have been sharing. I have been connecting with other writers and artists and following their journey. I have been submitting to sites and looking ahead to see what article requests people want. I have been stretching beyond what I normally write about just to see if I can.  I have gotten articles accepted and rejected and gotten tips and idea on how to write better.

I don’t know that anything I write will be on the New York Times Bestseller’s List.  I don’t think I really care either.  I have just loved writing and discovering and sharing. I have been loved getting feedback from people who say they have a hard time putting feelings into words but I did it for them.  I have loved Blake and the kids being excited about what I am writing and reading it.  I have loved submitting to sites that I never thought I would even try, just to see if it works.  I have loved finding a new purpose for me and I hope I will be writing until I am old and gray.

I have a blog I wrote on for years with recipes and memories and prompts, if you want to read more.  I didn’t really have a direction but it helped me to find my direction!

Leave a Reply

