Anyone can Write · Uncategorized

Spiritual Sunday: I’m trying to be like Jesus

We have had some crazy and rough mornings in our time.  In the last seven years of getting kids ready for school, I usually had a baby and toddler.  I would try to get the kids on time to school, dressed, fed and teeth brushed.  This was stressful at times.  And I felt horrible if we left each other while we were mad or sad or grumpy or anything other than happy.

A few years ago, we came across this song and video.  Emily Brown is a musician who was asked to share her testimony (beliefs) about Jesus Christ.  She chose to go to a café and sing a song that she loved about Jesus, I am trying to be like Jesus.  She was videoed singing it and the reactions of the people in the café were also videoed.  It turned out to be an amazing testimony of the power of good music and the peace of Jesus Christ.

We have listened to this song many mornings when things are starting to go poorly.  Sometimes I turn it on for the kids but many times, it is for me.  I need to hear something peaceful and something that reminds me of who I am trying to be like.”I am trying to be like Jesus. I’m following in his ways. I’m trying to love as he did in all that I do and say.” These are important reminders for me and especially for what I am trying to do as a wife and mother.

Leave a Reply

