Anyone can Write · Family · Five Minute Friday · Tell Your Story

Should

Another five minute prompt with Kate Montaug.  I really like these little prompts because they don’t give me time to think and I usually don’t know where I am going to end up!  Anyone can join in.

There are many things we “should” be doing.  Sometimes when I talk to my sister in law, Monica, we end up talking about the shoulds.  Well, I read a quote once that said “Quit shoulding yourself.”  Because the shoulds I normally talk about are

Make a quilt out of all the baby clothes

Finish all my projects

Learn a new hobby

And on and on

But when I think of the things I need to do, I come up with

Pray

Read my scriptures

Spend time with my husband

Be nice to my kids

Exercise

Write

Bake

Garden

These are all things I love to do and need to for my mental well being!  I like my needs, they fulfill me and make me happy.  Eventually when I get to the shoulds, maybe I’ll be happy about those too.  But life is still pretty busy, even with my kids in school.  I am working part time and some days getting to my shoulds.  But I am thinking, on my death bed, will I really be upset that I didn’t finish that project?  Or will I be happy I spent my time where I needed to spend it.  I belive our relationships continue beyond the grave, so I hope to do my best to nourish them here so we are that much further ahead.  Because I need these people.  Forever!

4 thoughts on “Should

  1. “But I am thinking, on my death bed, will I really be upset that I didn’t finish that project? Or will I be happy I spent my time where I needed to spend it”. From a mother who often spent more time straightening up behind my three children than I should have. That clean house…… will not be important on your death bed. Build memories, build relationships, start a legacy. I enjoyed reading your post. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. When I started this morning I kept listing my should list, but it wasn’t setting right with me, because as you said, it’s the needs that fulfill me and bring my life enjoyment. The should’s list can wait.

    Like

Leave a Reply

