Anyone can Write · food · Recipes · Tell Your Story · Uncategorized · What's Cookin' Wednesday

What’s Cookin’ Wednesday: Happy Birthday Cookies!

Other What’s Cookin’ Wednesdays.

I know, I know, we all have the best cookie recipe in the world.

I have tried the America’s Test Kitchen browned butter chocolate chip cookies (before browned butter was a thing.)

I have tried the legendary Neiman Marcus recipe that makes hundreds of cookies.

I have tried my mom’s recipe, which is still one of my favorites.

I love all of these! I will always go back to them depending on our needs.

But I have discovered a new recipe that has passed the approval of my family.  And my best friend’s approval (her kids declared I was the greatest baker).  And my recipe switching friend who is pretty picky about recipes.

It really is the greatest recipe.  It is thick but chewy and freezes beautifully.  It has a hint of white chocolate chips (can’t skip) that do something magical.  And sprinkles! (We’ve often used a random variety of Halloween, Christmas and Valentines)  And cream of tartar, go figure! I told my older friend, Myra about them and she said people “in the old days” always used cream of tartar. I am guessing that is what makes these cookies so magical.

I found the recipe in the I Heart Naptime Cookbook.  My mom gave it to me for Christmas.  I am something of a cookbook snob. I don’t mean to be but I am.  I just want to have the most useful cookbooks in our cabinets.  And I love when coookbooks come with stories that tell you why they are the best recipes.  Don’t all recipes come with memories? My favorites are:

America’s Test Kitchen Cookbook (everything here is delicious and if you want to try something crazy ie. croissants, this is the book for you. I promise you’ll love it.)

I Heart Naptime Cookbook (the amazing cookies and she has cute ideas for gifting gifts.  This would actually be a great gift too.)

Betty Crocker Cookbook (Classic recipes)

Lost Recipes Cookbook (Old fashioned recipes but with a twist so they match our generation. Plus the stories are so sweet.)

Ann Romney Cookbook (Best peach cobbler ever. And she had to feed a lot of boys so she knows what’s good.  Plus her stories are really fun.)

Now, if my favorite recipe blogger, Mel’s Kitchen Cafe, comes out with a cookbook, I will be first in line!  That girl knows what is good.

Happy Birthday Cookies!

  • 1 cup salted butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup sprinkles

Pre-heat oven to 350°. Cream butter and sugar in a large bowl. Add in eggs and vanilla and mix until combined. In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda and baking powder. Slowly add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture. Fold in chocolate chips and sprinkles. Using a cookie scoop or spoon, place the cookie dough on a baking sheet and bake for 8-12 minutes, or until the bottoms are golden brown. They should still be soft in the middle. Remove from oven and allow cookies to cool on pan for 2 minutes and then remove to cooling rack.

2 thoughts on “What’s Cookin’ Wednesday: Happy Birthday Cookies!

  1. I can’t wait to try this recipe! If you want a different style fruit or veg cookbook, check out Chez Panisse Vegetable and Chez Panisse Fruit by Alice Waters (she is a chef proponent of seasonal farm to table cooking).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

