Anyone can Write · Family · food · Recipes · Tell Your Story · Uncategorized · What's Cookin' Wednesday

What’s Cookin’ Wednesday: Banana Split Cake

Other What’s Cookin’ Wednesdays

I have wanted to write about and share this recipe for years!  Every time I walk past fresh bananas in the store during summertime, I am transported back to my childhood.  My mom making the best summertime treat that is so adaptable that anyone can add what they like.  It is sweet, so sweet that you don’t need a large amount but you can’t help but dip your fork (or finger) in one more time, one more time, etc.  And when you make it for a 4th of July bbq, it will be gone in ten minutes flat. It is cool and refreshing and perfect.

It’s banana split cake.  I have made it dozens of times and never taken a picture because there aren’t any attractive pictures of this cake.  I am sure a food photographer could kick butt in the banana split cake department but mine always look like a lump of cool whip and chocolate syrup.  But don’t let my horrible food photography description fool you, this is a summer treat must.

Nilla wafer crust (maybe you could sub graham crackers in a pinch, but it’s worth the trip to the store), butter, cool whip (I should attempt real whipped cream!) and powdered sugar and butter are the base.  Then you add whatever you like.  My mom always put chocolate syrup, pineapple chunks, nuts, bananas (dipped in lemon juice) and maraschino cherries on top.  I’ve changed it up a bit and subbed the cherries for sliced strawberries and really, anything else you like on banana splits.  This dessert is very forgiving. And you don’t have to bake it.  In the humid Midwest, this is a serious blessing.

I hope you’ll make it and love it!  And let me know what combinations you try out.  There are two raw eggs in it, which I have never switched out, but google says you could try egg substitute.  So far, I haven’t gotten salmonella.  And so far, this is my favorite summer treat.  My daughter even mentioned when was I going to make it?  And now I have the need to make it asap!  And stay tuned for some future yummy summer recipes.

Banana Split Cake

Makes at least 20 pieces depending on size

1 package (12 ounce) vanilla wafers

1/2 cup butter

4 cups powdered sugar

1 cup butter

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

3-4 bananas sliced

Lemon juice

2 c. cool whip

Chocolate syrup

Sliced strawberries

Crush vanilla wafers.  Melt 1/2 cup butter and pour over wafers; mix well. Press into 9 by 13 pan and refrigerate 30 minutes.  Combine powdered sugar, 1 cup butter, eggs and vanilla.  Beat with mixer till smooth.  Spread over wafer crust.  Dip banana slices into lemon juice and place on top.  Add strawberries and anything else you want.  Cover completely with cool whip.  To serve: cut cake into individual servings.  Garnish with chocolate syrup, nuts and caramel syrup or anything else you like!

 

 

Leave a Reply

