Anyone can Write · Five Minute Friday · Tell Your Story · Uncategorized

Sing (5 minute Friday)

Join in for Five minute Friday with Kate MontaugOther Posts I have written.

When I was about ten years old, I was part of a singing group. I don’t think I was that good of a singer, I really don’t know.  I have always enjoyed singing but mostly singing in the shower/kitchen/car, not in front of strangers.  So, I am in this singing group and my teacher, Susan, asks me if I want to sing a solo.  In front of a lot of people. On a stage.  I didn’t want to. I was terrified but she had confidence in me, so I said I would do it.

I practiced singing the song, “I Wonder as I Wander”, a Christmas carol.  Showtime came and I was scared to death and sang the song and probably ran off the stage as fast as I could.  Later on, I saw the video of me singing and I could tell I was super nervous and I didn’t sound that great.  But guess what, Susan told me I had done awesome.  My parents were encouraging too.

I had never done something like that. I am more of a back row person, in classes, at church.  I have lots of ideas and thoughts but sharing them is not my thing (hence the writing).  But going out on a limb like that was huge for me.  I didn’t continue with my singing career but I remember that experience, now, 25 years later.  I even feel nervous just thinking about it!  But even more than the nervousness, was the pride that Susan believed in me and thought that I should be the one to sing the solo.  Maybe there were better singers and better performers but she chose me. I think it was to help my confidence. At that time in my life, I needed the boost and I am so glad she gave it to me.

8 thoughts on “Sing (5 minute Friday)

  1. Yahoo for Susan! We all need encouragers. I’m so glad the Psalmist says we can make a “joyful noise” because sometimes that is exactly what mine is. May you awaken each day this week singing a song. Visiting from #51 at FMF this week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment